Grant edit access rights to users

jonahlyn's Avatar

jonahlyn

08 Oct, 2010 06:11 PM

I've been following the instructions at http://www.hannonhill.com/kb/Access-Rights/index.html to grant read/write permissions to folders and pages in my site. I have a group of users I want to write to a folder but there is a file in that folder that I don't want them to be able to modify.

I thought I had the permissions working well. They could create pages in the folder and edit them but they saw no edit tab on the page with read-only rights. Then it was pointed out to me by a co-worker that the users could still edit this file by clicking on View -> Lock -> Check-out this asset , editing the page, and then View -> Lock -> Commit changes.

I'm not sure if we have a setting set incorrectly somewhere, if this is by design, or if I'm just completely misunderstanding how to set access rights.

Thanks.
Jonahlyn

  1. 1 Posted by Joel on 12 Oct, 2010 04:19 PM

    Joel's Avatar

    Hi Jonahlyn,

    This is due to the user's role not being tailored enough, as the user who can commit changes must have the ability the bypass workflows within their assigned role. Please check the role associated with the users who are able to perform this, and disable the following ability:

     Bypass workflow: Disabled

    Thanks!

  2. 2 Posted by jonahlyn on 12 Oct, 2010 06:57 PM

    jonahlyn's Avatar

    I tested this change on our Site Contributor role.

    On a read-only asset that did not have a workflow applied to it, it did stop them from editing showing the error: "There are no Workflows available. Your role requires you to use Workflow. You will not be able to submit this asset."

    On a read-only asset that did have a workflow applied to it, the edit tab stopped appearing on check-out and the only function that seemed to work was to Break the Lock.

    On an writable asset that did not have a workflow applied, I got the message: "There are no Workflows available. Your role requires you to use Workflow. You will not be able to submit this asset."

    So by making this change, does this mean that we would be required to use a workflow for all writable assets?

    Thanks.
    Jonahlyn

  3. 3 Posted by Joel on 12 Oct, 2010 08:23 PM

    Joel's Avatar

    Jonahlyn,

    So by making this change, does this mean that we would be required to use a workflow for all writable assets?

    Only if a Workflow is applicable for that particular asset. If it is not applicable, then the user who has write permissions for the asset can then edit.

    Thanks!

  4. 4 Posted by jonahlyn on 12 Oct, 2010 09:49 PM

    jonahlyn's Avatar

    I'm not sure I understand. During my testing, I was not able to edit an asset that did not have an applicable workflow. Otherwise I got the message: "There are no Workflows available. Your role requires you to use Workflow. You will not be able to submit this asset."

    Is that the way it's supposed to work?

    Thanks.
    Jonahlyn

  5. 5 Posted by Joel on 13 Oct, 2010 02:12 PM

    Joel's Avatar

    Jonahlyn,

    Correct, the "Lock" functionality was designed to be used in conjunction with Workflows primarily, so when the user does not have the ability to by-pass Workflows nor the ability to edit, they can not edit an asset that they do not have explicit write permissions to. The only case where they can edit (via Lock) is when there is a Workflow permitting them to do so.

    Thanks!

  6. 6 Posted by jonahlyn on 13 Oct, 2010 04:27 PM

    jonahlyn's Avatar

    Okay Thanks.

  7. jonahlyn closed this discussion on 13 Oct, 2010 04:27 PM.

  8. jonahlyn re-opened this discussion on 12 Nov, 2010 09:19 PM

  9. 7 Posted by jonahlyn on 12 Nov, 2010 09:21 PM

    jonahlyn's Avatar

    Please make this discussion public. Thanks.

  10. Tim closed this discussion on 12 Nov, 2010 09:27 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac