Clearing/Deleting a Page from the Content to Review Widget

Jeannine's Avatar

Jeannine

13 Mar, 2015 06:50 PM

We'd like to use the Content to Review widget to flag pages that have time sensitive information on them so we can make sure to update the page on a certain date. Once we update the page, we want to remove it from the list of Content to Review, but there's no way to do that - at least no way that I can find. The pages just keep showing up as Past Due. In other words, there seems to be no way to use this feature for a one-time review. That's too bad, because it'd be a very useful feature for us.

Do you have plans to add the ability to clear or delete a page from the Review list? Or is there another way to remove the Past Due alert besides setting a future review date?

  1. 1 Posted by Ryan Griffith on 13 Mar, 2015 07:10 PM

    Ryan Griffith's Avatar

    Hi Jeannine,

    The Content to Review widget is based on the asset's Review Date, so in order to remove it from the widget and Stale Content Report, you would need to update it's Review Date to "re-schedule" when the asset should be reviewed again.

    Updating the asset's review date can be done within the Stale Content Report on a per-asset basis (or in bulk), or by editing the asset itself and changing it's review date metadata field.

    Based on your use case, perhaps the Stale Content widget would be more appropriate because it is based on when the asset was last update.

    If you are looking for more of an automated review date, I was able to find this related suggestion on our Idea Exchange which mentions being able to configure a sort of automated review date based on some criteria. If this sounds similar to what you are looking for, I highly recommend voting up the suggestion.

    Please let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks!

  2. 2 Posted by Jeannine East on 13 Mar, 2015 07:58 PM

    Jeannine East's Avatar

    Thanks, Ryan. I will test out your suggestions and see if those work for us. Can you provide me with access to the Idea Exchange?

  3. 3 Posted by Ryan Griffith on 13 Mar, 2015 08:01 PM

    Ryan Griffith's Avatar

    Hi Jeannine,

    My apologies, I thought I saw that you already had access to our Idea Exchange. I went ahead and sent you an invitation, which you should receive shortly in your email.

    Please let me know if you have any questions or issues accessing the Idea Exchange.

    Thanks!

  4. 4 Posted by Jeannine East on 13 Mar, 2015 08:38 PM

    Jeannine East's Avatar

    Thanks for the invite to the Idea Exchange.

    I checked out your solutions, but none works exactly as I hoped. I would like to clear the review rather than reschedule the review to a later date.

    I’m thinking of it like checking off an item on a to-do list where the item disappears from the list when the review is complete. For example, under the actions column, there would be Notify by Email, Schedule Review, and Review Complete.

    Another option would be that, by publishing the page, it is no longer on the Stale Content Report which automatically clears it from the Needs Review Report.

  5. 5 Posted by Ryan Griffith on 16 Mar, 2015 04:08 PM

    Ryan Griffith's Avatar

    Not a problem at all, Jeannine.

    Based on your description, perhaps this suggestion may be more along the lines of what you are looking for. The idea would be you could mark the asset as "evergreen," meaning it would never again show on the report. I think the main intent is more for assets that are rarely to never updated, but you might be able to make it work.

    Please let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks!

  6. 6 Posted by Jeannine East on 16 Mar, 2015 04:13 PM

    Jeannine East's Avatar

    Thank you! Yes, this could definitely be a solution. I have voted for it. Do you know if this feature is in the works for a future release?

  7. 7 Posted by Ryan Griffith on 16 Mar, 2015 04:49 PM

    Ryan Griffith's Avatar

    Thank you for voting for the suggestion and following up, Jeannine. I am glad to hear this suggestion is more along the lines of what you were looking for.

    This particular feature is still under review and receiving validation, and I was able to locate a corresponding improvement in our public issue tracker. Unfortunately, I do not have an official timeline, but I can say it is relatively high on our development timeline.

    Feel free to use the link I provided to track the progress of this improvement, or keep an eye out for it on our Release Notes site.

    Please let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks!

  8. Ryan Griffith closed this discussion on 06 Apr, 2015 08:41 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac