Global to Site migration questions

May's Avatar

May

26 Apr, 2013 06:12 PM

Please find below my questions about site migration:

(1) All migrated folders/files will be moved to the Base folder after migration. How do I retain the old site folder structure in the new site (Base Folder -> site folder) this way I don't need to worry about potential problems on links referencing to the old site folder. Is there a way to automatically set it up before migration?

(2) In the global area, the site folder and folders underneath have users/groups access assigned. Do I need to re-assign them after migration?

(3) What happens to the live site during the migration process?

  1. 1 Posted by Ryan Griffith on 29 Apr, 2013 01:59 PM

    Ryan Griffith's Avatar

    Hi,

    (1) All migrated folders/files will be moved to the Base folder after migration. How do I retain the old site folder structure in the new site (Base Folder -> site folder) this way I don't need to worry about potential problems on links referencing to the old site folder. Is there a way to automatically set it up before migration?

    Once migrated, the chosen Folder from the Global Area will be removed and the new Site will retain the structure of the original Folder (as it was within the Global Area). Links to Assets within the original Global Area Folder will be updated to point to the newly migrated Site.

    (2) In the global area, the site folder and folders underneath have users/groups access assigned. Do I need to re-assign them after migration?

    During the migration process you will be presented with an option to assign Site Roles, which determines who has access to the newly created Site and what abilities they have. The permissions/access of the individual Assets will be retained after the migration.

    For example, if you have a /css Folder that was only writable by a Managers Group, the /css Folder within the new Site will be writable by only the Managers Group as well.

    (3) What happens to the live site during the migration process?

    The migration simply migrates Assets from the Global Area to a new Site within Cascade, so your live site is not affected during the migration. Once the new Transport and Destinations are created (based off of the Target chosen during the migration), you should be able to publish to your live site as you normally would.

    Note: if possible, it is recommended to perform the migration on a test instance so you are able to see the result of the migration without affecting your production.

    Please let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks

  2. 2 Posted by May on 29 Apr, 2013 02:28 PM

    May's Avatar

    Thanks for your help. Yes, I will be running it on a test server.

  3. 3 Posted by Ryan Griffith on 29 Apr, 2013 02:42 PM

    Ryan Griffith's Avatar

    Not a problem at all. I'm going to go ahead and close this discussion, please feel free to comment or reply to re-open if you have any additional questions.

    Have a great day!

  4. Ryan Griffith closed this discussion on 29 Apr, 2013 02:42 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac