Have the "Un-Publish Content" checkbox checked by default system wide

cprice's Avatar

cprice

16 May, 2014 06:43 PM

I know you can go into user settings and check the box to always un-publish content when deleting a file, but we want to make that default for all users.
We were told that doing so would delete any content in that directory on the web server that isn't owned by Cascade...such as manually uploaded files via ftp, or leftover files from our old CMS that we want to keep in there. Is that accurate?

In short, we just want to set it so all files that are deleted through Cascade, are also automatically removed from the live web server by default. We don't want any other non-Cascade files deleted.

Suggestions?

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Tim on 19 May, 2014 05:16 PM

    Tim's Avatar

    Hi,

    We were told that doing so would delete any content in that directory on the web server that isn't owned by Cascade...such as manually uploaded files via ftp, or leftover files from our old CMS that we want to keep in there. Is that accurate?

    I don't believe that's accurate. Any files that were not managed by Cascade Server in the first place should not be touched during an un-publish operation. Even if someone were to delete/un-publish a Folder, the assets managed in Cascade Server would be removed but the Folder will remain on the web server(s) because the application can't tell if there are items in that folder that aren't managed by the system. This idea on our Idea Exchange speaks to that.

    I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any further questions.

    Thanks

  2. Tim closed this discussion on 21 Oct, 2014 04:00 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac